• Invite everyone to Flightinfo.com and let's have fun

The Hiring Boom?

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web
Yeah I read that article in todays USA Today, sounds too me like the same BS that I've been hearing for the last 15 years from flight schools. That article was pretty bias since their only sources where Embry Riddle and Boeing, both who have intrest in projecting nice big figures for the future of aviation. When the wages and perks go up that's when we'll know we have a shortage.

It is going to [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]happen and it is going to happen with a boom. For every major pilot hired it creates 5-6 pilot jobs, one leaves a Atlas to go to Delta, one now leaves Com-Air to go to Atlas, and another leaves Ameristar to go to Com-Air, and then a guy leaves the 135 UPS nightly freight run to go to [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Ameristar[/FONT][FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif] and finally Joe CFI goes to 135 UPS feeder, that is a bunch of pilot jobs. We have lost 12 pilots in 6 months, that is a 40% annual turnover rate, we have not seen that in years
[/FONT]

[/FONT]

It is going to [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]happen and it is going to happen with a boom. For every major pilot hired it creates 5-6 pilot jobs, one leaves a Atlas to go to Delta, one now leaves Com-Air to go to Atlas, and another leaves Ameristar to go to Com-Air, and then a guy leaves the 135 UPS nightly freight run to go to [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Ameristar[/FONT][FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif] and finally Joe CFI goes to 135 UPS feeder, that is a bunch of pilot jobs. We have lost 12 pilots in 6 months, that is a 40% annual turnover rate, we have not seen that in years
[/FONT]

[/FONT]