Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Almerick07

Professional Surf Bum
Since as it turns out I have decided to leave aviation professionally Ive recently been toying with the idea of building something. I basically want to:

1. Go fast
2. Go upside down
3. Go into clouds
4. Take someone else
5. X-C capable

Kind of a tall order to fill but maybe there is some super homebuilt Im not aware of...
Hopefully financially permitting Id like to have 2, 1 for fun (acro/speed) and 1 for the family (4 place/fast/X-C..etc.)

Im new to the homebuilt world but I have decided this is something I defintely want to do...any suggestions, ideas or dream machine suggestions would be welcome. Im also open to other ideas besides homebuilts.

Check out the Vans RV-7 or (-8)

160-180 cruise

light acro

can be IFR

two seats

3 hours @ 180kts 2/3 the way across TX

Only draw back is that it only has two seats. They do make the RV-10 that holds four, but no acro.

yea ive been looking into the vans....whats everyones take on the 4? I know a guy who I respect pretty well for his intelligence and he chose a rv4 over all of them, we've also pulled over 6g's in it...i dont think that qualifies as light acro does it? Im beginning to think Ill build a vans and maybe just buy a bonanza or something similar to haul the family around in.

long response from an RV fanatic