Jobs Ideas While On Furlough

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Furlough Boy

I have been on furlough for over a year now and just can not get a stable, full time job.

I have a degree in Business but companies keep rejecting me because they feel that I will leave them as soon as I get a chance to fly again. I have done some substitute teaching, but it is unstable and without benefits.

I am pretty desperate for ideas. Any suggestions would really be appreciated.

Answer

You could start shooting people then demand the government pay you $10 million.

NO....I guess that doesn't work.

Interview tips

I'm a terrible liar so I struggled with this last year when I was just furloughed and looking for jobs. I was finally hired (non-airline), and here's how I avoided the subject.

When asked if I would return to the airlines my answer would contain some of the following points. Some may be applicable to you, some may not.

1- This is the second time I've been furloughed (true) ... I need something more stable.

2- I have a wife and kids ... I have missed Birthdays, Anniversaries, Thanksgiving, and Christmas for the last 4 years (true) I'm looking forward to being home for the Holidays this year.

3- I'm gone half the month or more ... I'm tired of spending that much time away from friends and family. A 9-5 job would be a welcome change.

4- Even if airlines start hiring again, I will be the junior FO, commuting to reserve ... poor schedule, low pay yadda yadda yadda

5- I think a career at (interviewers company) would be a great thing for me and my family: stable, more time at home, opportunity for advancement etc.