USAF Academy or ROTC

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Comet2

I'm a High School student in the process of applying for USAFA and/or ROTC at ERAU and I'm inquiring as to which would be considered the best approach given the goal of attending UPT and (hopefully) qualifying for a fighter assignment. The following are my thoughts (dilemmas), please comment with your perspectives and ideas.

1. USAFA receives the same number of UPT assignments as ROTC, however ROTC has a much higher number of cadets so the numbers work in favor of USAFA. However, with that, being a USAFA cadet tends to place you in a more competitive arena for those precious slots than ROTC(?). Is anyone aware of the stats asscociated with the number of candidates vs. the number of selectees in both institutions or where I could find them?

2. Conversely, if I were to attend ERAU, I would be an Aero. Science major which I feel would make me more competent (and competitive) as a pilot candidate entering into UPT. With the dual track system currently in place, I'm told it doesn't leave much time to 'catch up' like in the old days (4-5 months to track?). No disrespect, but USAFA seems to spend a great deal of time in engineering and military sciences courses at the expense of what ERAU focuses on, which is flying. Is there an advantage that I'm unaware of to attending USAFA?

My ultimate goal is, and always has been, to fly a fighter in the USAF. Although cost would be a consideration, it is secondary to this discussion (ROTC doesn't pay for flight courses).