Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Mud Eagle

Aviator
Anyone know the restrictions (or help point me in the right direction) on transferring time from one logbook to another?

I'm a military pilot, but I also had my private ticket before I started flying jets. For a while I was keeping both types of time in the same book...but advice from many people advised me to keep them separate.

So, right now I have two logbooks that are a mess; mostly military time with some civil lines strewn in.

What I want to do is create a new log for my civil flying separate from the military stuff...that way, years from now when it's time to interview, I'll be able to simply bring in my AFORMS printout (for the AF time) and my civilian logbook. Plus, I won't have to worry about math errors in my military time making my personal log not match the AFORMS printout!

Can I simply transfer time from one to another? What about endorsements and the like? Or, am I stuck with some messy logbooks until the end of time?

You can do it any way you like, as there is no regulation to guide you in this case. I would suggest making a new log to separate the times as you've desired...make a notation in the back of the log that this is a reconstructed log and reference your origionals for the endorsements. You don't need them twice. You needn't take the origional logs to the interview (though you could keep them in a briefcase in the event anybody gets really desperate to see them).

It's not a big deal.