Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Friendliest aviation Ccmmunity on the web
  • Modern site for PC's, Phones, Tablets - no 3rd party apps required
  • Ask questions, help others, promote aviation
  • Share the passion for aviation
  • Invite everyone to Flightinfo.com and let's have fun

SWA and CAL B737s...why the six pack on the NGs?

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web
ATA had HUD's in all the 737-800's.

Nice equipment at about 3/4 mil a pop.

Nobody knew how to use them....But, they were great for seeing if you could top a cloud bank, and worked even better as a mirror to check your tie and hair before leaving the cockpit.

Remember: " It is always better to look good, than to fly that way."

ATA - AssKlown Training Academy

I am proud to say: "I AM A GRADUATE".

I even list it on my Resume'....

Seriously, we always had the best equipment /engines available...But it was like Cavemen operating Spaceships.

:)

Last edited:
CAL does RNAV/RNP approaches with their NGs and they have the 6-pack displays.

I didn't know that, as a matter of fact I didn't even know that anyone else had that presenation.

Our switch over was directly related to the timing of RNP/RNAV/GPS approaches for what it's worth.

i thought this also, but what has changed so now we can fly round and tapes? did the faa actually use some common sense or did boeing tell swa to get with the times and they were putting tapes in the -7's forward?

No clue. We were told it was due to the 3 different cockpits and keeping the -700 similar to the rest per the POI.

We at AA regularly switch between "Flat Panel" 757/767s (the newly installed PFD/ND displays with tapes) and the classic 2-EFIS tube round dial 75/76s. Not too big of a deal, but that's just me...