Printing from wireless laptop.

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

JetLinkin Park

May as well follow up my LCD/Plasma thread with another tech question. You guys seem to share my interest in electronics. Anyway, I have a laptop that's wirelessly connected via PCI to router. Every time I need to print, I have to take laptop downstairs and hook up via USB. Is there a way I can wirelessly print from anywhere in my home to my brand new Epson printer? Does the printer have to be connected to a desktop/laptop PC to do so? I think that a print server is what I'm looking for, but not quite sure. Anyone else print using a similar method?

Keep in mind I own only a laptop, no secondary desktop PC connections. Thanks!

I can think of two ways to do this but I'm not an expert by any means. If the printer and the laptop are bluetooth enabled you should be able to do it. What i do is have a network with a desktop that is pluged into the printer. I don't really know what a print server would do.

Look into an AirPort Express by Apple. You can set up a wireless network that even a non-network capable printer can use to behave like a network printer.

It has a USB port on it that you plug the printer into. You then plug it into the wall and voila - a wireless network with a printer on it. It'll support up to 10 wireless connections too.

Works on 802.11b and g and most features are operable on both PCs and Macs. It can be used for a ton of other stuff too - like cerating aireless network in your hotel room when you don't want to have to remain plugged into the ethernet cable. Just plug the Express into the wall and connect the internet connection and you've got your wireless network in your room.

Hope this helps.

TIS