Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Catbert

I hate Teterboro
I've been following the thread "Any traffic in the area please advise". There was a great post there by someone in ATC, which got me to thinking.

As a pilot, I'd really like to know what honks off you folks on the other end of the radio. What annoying things are we doing? What can we do better or different? Everything from procedures to goofy radio calls.

Maybe....

We could start an ATC forum for that. I suggested that several weeks ago. I thought it would be usefull as well!

Aaah, ya know, I started reading this board because I'm intending to bail out of the FAA in a little under 2 years, and I'm interested in a retirement job in aviation somewhere. I really don't want to get to bogged down in ATC-specific talk. But since you asked...

OK, two peeves, having to do with visual approaches.

First, why are so many pilots tacking on "when it helps" reporting the airport in sight? Helps who? I don't get it. If I can immediately clear you for a visual approach, I will. If I can't I won't. Simple as that. Can't you just say "airport in sight"?

Second, what's wrong with actually saying "Airport in sight"? Lots of pilots out there saying "We have the field all the way" (or my real favorite, "field all the way when it helps". All the way to what? I've taken to asking pilots who say that, "Verify field in sight?" And trust me, if anything untoward ever happens, my bosses will bust my chops for accepting that as a report that you have the airport in sight.