GOM and OpSpecs manual formats

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

bizjet800

I am going through and updating our GOM and OpSpecs. They are in both MS Word and PDF. Each section is in a different file and folder and its very difficult to make revisions and amendments (i.e., make changes to headers/footers to match previous/following sections). I am a novice at Word so perhaps if I learned it better I could do it more efficiently.

Is there an easy template in MS Word or other format that would make it easy to make changes and updates? What I have is painstakingly intensive to go through and update things.

Thanks in advance!

It's a royal freakin pain in the rear. You just have to learn the ins and outs of Word. Once you get it down it's not so bad but the learning curve is a bitch!

I would recommend Adobe FrameMaker or something similar. This would allow you to set tags and references that could be searched later and establish all your manual interfaces.

For example, you could set all the FAR references as tags to the appropriate paragraph, and tie that to the ATOS SAI's and EPIs.

If you do it properly, it would then pull up all references to FAR 120 in the GOM, Station Manual and that becomes your manual interface table.

I know your pain.