Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web
wmuflyguy said:
What is engine Rollback?

Basically this would be the case of a turbine engine decreasing rpm without a change in throttle setting. Could be serious if the engine stagnates at some low rpm and does not respond to an increase in throttle setting. Compressor stalls or flameout could be imminent. I've never seen it and I've been flying turbine equipment since 1958. The cure is to decrease the load on the engine. Turn ON engine anti-ice to unload the compressor and turn OFF hydraulic pumps and generators driven by the engine. If the problem is stuck acceleration bleed valves that may help. If it is physical damage you may have to shut it down.

-DC

I've only had one engine rollback - in a G200. It was a fuel computer problem. It was easy to resolve, it just required a reset.

'Sled

Also, you sometimes hear people call "rollback" during engine start as the temp decreases and the engine stabilizes after start.

I've got a manual or two around here myself...

flx757 said:
Also, you sometimes hear people call "rollback" during engine start as the temp decreases and the engine stabilizes after start.

I'm sure you waited for 50% N2 before making that call and putting the HP Bleed to auto?!