Diesel aviation engines

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web
sstearns2,
I mentioned the IO-470D, not some of the carb version of lower compression ratio, .42 or .43 for the IO-470D.(260hp)

what about small turboprops??

Just a thought (and I am BY NO MEANS an engineer of any kind): with the advent of jet engines which weigh just 85 pounds but develop 770 lbs of thrust like the Williams EJ-22 developed for the Eclipse (and yes, I know it is having some teething pains), is there a place for a small turboprop engine dervied from something like that, instead of a diesel, or no?

I would think that the initial weight issues are addressed because the EJ-22 engine itself is so light, but would the other mechanical requirements to make it into a turboprop make it so heavy or complex as to be impractical?

As I said earlier, I don't know much about the engineering side of making something like that happen, but I'm curious whether others with more knowledge about these kinds of issues might have some thoughts?

Interesting thread.

Re: what about small turboprops??

andymsn said:
Just a thought (and I am BY NO MEANS an engineer of any kind): with the advent of jet engines which weigh just 85 pounds but develop 770 lbs of thrust like the Williams EJ-22 developed for the Eclipse (and yes, I know it is having some teething pains), is there a place for a small turboprop engine dervied from something like that, instead of a diesel, or no?

I would think that the initial weight issues are addressed because the EJ-22 engine itself is so light, but would the other mechanical requirements to make it into a turboprop make it so heavy or complex as to be impractical?