continue or not?

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

boulder19

I have been working on my PPL for 4 months now. I have 28 hours and have not soloed yet. I don't think I am ready to solo but my instructor says I am. My 141 school requires that I take a stage check with one of the senior instructors before I solo. I do not think I will pass this stage check, my instructor thinks I will. The average estimated cost from this school was $7,200. I have already spent $7,730.
My original intention when I started flying was to be a professional. Things have changed for me and I only want to do it as a hobby now.
My problem is I am a full time student and have a part time job. I don't have the time or money to keep putting into this. How difficult would it be to stop flying now and pick it up later in life, when I have more time and money? Would I have to start over because of loss of proficiency? Would this be more costly than finishing up cross country stuff now?

Any thoughts or suggestions are appreciated!

just a thought

This is just a suggestion as I am still going for the PPL myself, but why not go for a recreational pilots license for now. You could fly a while and then pick up the PPL later. I don't know how you could go about doing this, but it is an idea. Good luck.

mvspring

It sounds to me as though your heart isn't in it. I find it hard to understand that it took 28 hours to reach this conclusion, but there we are.

For those who don't absolutely LOVE flying, I usually recommend waiting for the hobby phase of life, such as when you are a law partner or surgeon. Then, you have the money to do this "hobby" right. All right, I'm being facetious. You can enjoy flying a lot by renting a 152 for an hour on Sunday afternoons, too.