What kind of sunglasses?

T

TDTURBO

Serengeti's are sweet, get the medium blacks out of Spruce catalog for under a hundo. Be wary of polarized lenses, I don't think there legal to fly with........at least thats what I was told.

PastMmo

Coffee Serving Ho
Total Time
polarization?

Nowhere (to my knowledge) does it say in the regs that you can't fly with polarized lenses. Some problems with heated windscreens are the only problem. Really, a personal preference.

I just ordered a new pair of serengeti's. model # 6745. Polarized. Best sunglasses I've EVER owned. Been a Ray Ban person for the last 15 years. Ordered from internet retailer for 33% less than "mall" price.

typhoonpilot

Daddy
Total Time
17000+
Check out eBay for Serengeti Aviators. I recently purchased a brand new pair for $50.00 that normally retail at over $125.00. I've been flying with Serengetis for over 15 years and swear by them.

T

TDTURBO

Polarized lenses wash out LED displays such as stormscopes and glass cockpits, I was going to get a pair but when I told the Lady I was a pilot she wouldn't sell them to me, fearing I would only have to return them. This is what I was told, probably is BS but her reasoning kinda made sense.

402driver

Total Time
2300+
It's True

A lot of CRTs have polarized screens to prevent glare. The Garming 430/530 does too. Next time you are wearing a pair of polarized glasses, try looking at the display with your head tilted 90 degrees.

By the way, Oakleys are Da'Bomb!

T

TDTURBO

So the lady was right? I never tried using them in a glass cockpit so I don't know for sure.

Tim

OtterFO

Flying Again!!!!
Total Time
Put on a pair of polarized sunglasses and look at the LCD screen on your favorate NOKIA cell phone, then rotate the phone 90 degrees.

T

TDTURBO

Since I don't have a pair of polarized lenses, that will be hard to do.
Please tell me what happends, does the LED wash out?

PastMmo

Coffee Serving Ho
Total Time
LED vs. CRT