Tattoo Hinderance

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Toy Soldier

I have NUMEROUS tattoos and was wondering if there are any "positive" stories of pilots getting hired with them.

I have them on my neck, arms. I had the ones removed from my hands with very EXPENSIVE and PAINFUL laser surgery.

I am a retired Army Captain, professional, college degree, and currently fly a twin commander for a local company. I am also a very popular flight instructor at the my FBO.

The moral of my story is that I am a very personable guy that made a bad error in judgement 23 years ago...

I need some encouragement please!!!!!!!

Thanx
Twin-Commander Commander

Keep them! Don't be ashamed of them, nor of who you are...nor of who you were!

I flew for a Chief Pilot who had tattoos, received as a Chief Master Sergeant, before leaving the service to start a new career as a pilot. The tattoos didn't make any difference. I've flown with others who had them; no difference.

I can't speak for anyone else, but if I were to fly with you, my only two interests would be how you fly, and your attitude. Outside of that, being male, female, black white or other, having tattoos or not, it just doesn't matter.

I know two corporate pilots who wouldn't be caught dead outside of blue jeans. One just hired with a fractional, and wears black wranglers with his white shirt. The other wears the same, and owns a jet charter company. Nobody has ever said a word.

I'm not advocating rampant individualism outside of a SWA interview, but the point being that you can be accepted, marketable, and do just fine with or without the tattoos. Leave them right where they are, and if the question comes up, talk about them. Not a big deal at all. In fact, probably a marketable conversation piece, used properly.