Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

BigRed1

Hi guys:

I have been a United Airlines pilot for 9 1/2 years. I am quite frustrated with the lack of movement (worse now with age 65, no growth, no A/C orders) and a bit concerned with all the merger and consolidation talk spewing from our CEO's mouth every time I turn around. When I first started at UAL, it was a world class, high paying airline job. It is no longer that in the least bit. In fact, the majority of our domestic airline job choices these days are frustrating at best. I am more optimistic about our foreign airline brethren. Those with U.S. bases seem particularly interesting. Cathay Pacific seems like a nice fit for a 35 year old married guy with 3 kids.

I have filled out my on line application for Cathay Pacific, but have not hit the "submit" button. I feel like I want to know as much as possible before I take on this venture.

I would greatly appreciate any help with my questions via a PM and/or a follow up phone conversation. If there are any former US legacy Airline pilots who have made the jump to Cathay in the last year who wouldn't mind letting me pick their brains, I would be very very thankful for the information.

Sincerely,

BigRed1 (AKA Mike)

Bigred1,