Question

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Flat-tire

What do you pilots think about banner towing? Bad idea or good way to build time while I wait? Safe?

If it pays an honest days wage for an honest days work, I say that any flying is a honorable way to build time. There are probably better ways, but at 220 hours, you have plenty of time to do a little towing and still get to do some of the better flying before you get to anyones hiring mins.
Good Luck

BTW, I've never done any banner towing, so I can't really say if it's safe or not. Sorry.

I have been towing for about 7 years now.

I must say that not only is it a good way to build time, but it is a blast.

Your stick and rudder skills greatly increase, you become one with the airplane. You have no choice when you fly 8 hours a day.

Really though, I would recommend it, you fly a bunch, make alot of money and you have a great time doing it.

It is also as safe as you make it. What I mean is that people tend to get a little careless sometimes when it comes to towing. But you learn with time and you get better and better.

I guess what I'm saying is, I recommend it.

Be safe

LR25

What Lear25 says is correct. I don't tow right now, but years ago I started and ran a tow operation. Safety is as you make it? Is crossing the street safe? That's up to you.

Ok, then what makes a safe banner tow pilot? I've never done it but would seriously consider it.

Safety

What makes a safe banner pilot I think is to have a good head on your shoulders.

A place where I was working a guy got killed because he over flew the airplane. Long story short, he drug the banner through the tops of the pines and did a half snap straight into the dirt.