Logging time in a C90 question.

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Hueydewy

Just offered a medevac co-pilot job in a King Air C90. As far as I know the C90 is a single pilot airplane. Can I log any flight time while in the right seat?

The following is only my opinion so please take it as such since I am not a lawyer. It depends is the correct answer. I presume that you will be operating under part 135. Does the companies ops specs require a SIC in the C90 for these trips? If so then yes you can log it. It the SIC is other there because of insurance requirements (or whatever) then I might be dubious about logging that time. We need a little more info from you before we can be certain. There are many good discussions about this very topic here if you do a search for logging SIC time or something along those lines you will find much useful information. Hope it helps.

Twotter76

Check the op specs

I agree with the above. I assume this is a real job and am assuming, too, that this is 135. Absent these conditions, you cannot log all the time but you can log only the time that you are actually flying the airplane AS SOLE MANIPULATOR of the controls as multi, turbine, PIC, night and whatever. You cannot log the time that you are warming the right seat while the other pilot flies. The FARs and not insurance control.

I was in your shoes a few years ago when I was hired by a group flying a C-90 part 91. There inshurance did require 2 pilots but I was still unsure how to log time in this aircraft as it is a single pilot airplane. To add insult to injury they did not give me any formal traing so all I recieved way my 3 takeoff and landings.