interrupting rest periods

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

skypine69

I am a part 121 pilot on reserve. The other day I finished a trip at 2300. I was scheduled to be on airport reserve from 0800 to 1530 the following day. No problem with that. At 0530 scheduling called me to inform me they had a trip for me starting at 0755. Does that interrupt my rest period?? (yeah I know i am a dumba$$ for answering the phone!) Could I have told them that because they called me they would have to give me another 8 hours of rest before I would be legal to do anything?
Thanx!

You don't get any help from the regs. FAR 121.471 is the closest thing you will get to help in your scenario and that's only because I assume you went into a reduced rest action.

As to the telephone call, the FAA thinks you are still resting (because you are home or at a hotel). Your contract may help you more. According to our contract, the schedulers can only attempt to contact you ONCE (one-time) during scheduled rest. However, scheduling is very good at their job and I have answered hotel phones thinking it was my wake up call (won't do that any more). When they call my cell, they block their caller ID. Those guys are a barrel of fun to deal with!

In your scenario, you started rest at 2300 (assuming this is an accurate and exact time). However, the call was for a 0755 report. This is 8 hours and 55 minutes of rest. If you were awake at 0530, you could have challenged the scheduler or waited till the end of the day to drop the hammer. If you were to fly less than 8 hours in the next flight day, you are required by 121.471 to get 9 hours of rest reducable to 8.

So you could have done one of three choices: