AT/SWA SLI Question

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

AlanHarmon688

Forgive me, I am relatively new to this airline thing. I have a quick question. Why don't airlines just go to an arbitrator right from the start? Have any airlines ever done it without going to an arbitrator? I would imagine with any SLI, some people are going to be ticked off, and the MCs would rather point the finger to an arbitrator, then themselves. So, why not just skip the "cordial" SLI meetings, and expedite this process by going straight to arbitration? Thanks.

I have a quick question. Why don't airlines just go to an arbitrator right from the start? Have any airlines ever done it without going to an arbitrator?

Railway Labor Act. I'm far from an expert but there's a legal process for negotiating an airline contact. Many, if not most, airline pilot contracts are done without arbitration.

Each side wold prefer to take a good shot at getting their goals in regular negotiations. The arbitrator can always be called in when all else has failed.

Seniority list integration is a BIG deal.

You are forgiven! Go and sin no more...

The Federal Government, as preserved in a corrupted form that would not be recognized by President Jefferson by the Liberal Federalist Lincoln and the illegal war he waged has decreed that airlines are as vital to the Nation's Security and Prosperity as the Railroads were back during the Civil War (well, the North did have better organized rail systems and look who won-oh yeah, they had the smelters and foundries to produce steel in quantities and the factories to produce steam engines and rails and more importantly cannons, rifles, bayonets and chipped beef en mass, but that's another story).